2 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy  August 24, 2017 Bradley Spoon  I've listened to this book for an upcoming episode we're doing for http://AudioShelf.me and I must say...romance is NOT my genre at all. Especially cheap "penetrating" romance. The story was really boring, it wasn't original, and it was completely predictable. I honestly couldn't wait to be finished with it. The narration was good, though. It was narrated by Tiffany Marz and she did a nice job with what she had. Her Minnesota-sounding accent crept in several times (especially with words with long A's." Overall, Tiffany put a lot of emphasis on creating all the characters' voices to be different from each other. I was wishing a southern accent was used for the main character or Stacey, but there wasn't. Overall, I will never read this again and I don't want to read anything like it.

 
​5 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy February 28, 2017  Tiffany Marz VO Artist  So...its 4am...at midnight I decided I'd read a few more chapters....starting my reading from chapter 4...I just FINISHED THE WHOLE BOOK!! I couldn't stop! Sandi, it was so amazing! And of course I'm sitting here crying lol you had me experiencing every emotion!! I really can't say enough about it!

3 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy January 19, 2017  Sandie Grise I was given this book by the author and these are my thoughts on it...People tend to forget that receiving a 3 as a rating is middle of the road, it's still a good rating and should be thought of as such. I could not connect with the characters. The first few pages did not grab me, but I pushed on. But the more I pushed on the more that I knew that I was not reading the book and enjoying it. In the end, I just had to face the hard facts that this was not the book for me. That being said, please do lot let ti detour you, many others will no doubt find it a pleasurable escape. As I said, it just wasn't the book for me. 

4 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy  December 2, 2016 -  TDC Book Reviews- This book has everything you could want, in what I would call a typical RomCom. When Lucy’s father forces her to take some much needed time off from their practice, and sends her to Echo Heaven Spa, Lucy reluctantly agrees to go be pampered. Only to show up to the Echo Heaven and find out it’s actually a working Ranch. In the middle no where. With no cellphone reception. and she is the only female guest. who packed flip flops and pretty dresses, not cowboy boots and jeans. Thankfully, the owner of the ranch can’t help but laugh at this woman who is so out of place that he takes some pity on her and helps show her the ropes. This book was super adorable. I couldn’t put it down and was laughing out loud while swooning at every page. The only thing I didn’t like was that the perspective would change randomly and I would need to go back a few sentences and double check who was speaking. Otherwise, I loved every part of it. The author gets 4 highlighted stars!

4 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy  August 5, 2016 ~ Lj Ryan – A fantastic holiday read. This is a wonderful book by Sandi K. Whipple – once I started reading this story I knew it would be a simple “get away from it all” read. There is no thought provoking plot and that’s not a criticism - just relax and enjoy Sandi’s flowing style of writing and storyline. The story and characters are so workable and very endearing. I read this while on vacation and I admit I didn’t want to rush through the book and finish it to match with the end of my vacation, because once I started to read it I didn’t want the story to end; it was excellent from start to finish. But finish it did and it left me with a satisfying smile and good feeling that I wanted more of Sandi’s books. Her characters are charming and fun, now that’s the feel good factor I enjoy and was so happy I chose Dancing With A Cowboy for my holiday read.

5 of 5 stars Dancing With A Cowboy  Kayla Trail May 30, 2016 Such a wonderful book by an amazing author!!

5 of 5 stars Dancing With A Cowboy Romance Treasure  [Annie] Mar 07, 2016 Annie rated it. It was amazing  Shelves: my-book-reviews, highly-recommend  An overworked by choice Lucy Baumgardner, very successful Philadelphia lawyer working in her father’s Law Firm has her daddy taking drastic steps to get his daughter to take a vacation, some well needed time off to re-charge, have some adventure in her life but when he makes his daughters vacation arrangements it is not at all what Lucy was expecting or prepared for. She’s going to spend two glorious weeks at a posh mountain spa resort being pampered with manicures, pedicures, facials, and sitting by the pool, or so she thinks.
But when Lucy arrives at her destination she’s dumfounded and in disbelief, surely there has been a BIG mistake and she is going to have serious words with daddy as soon as she can get out of this hole in the mountains enough to get a phone signal. She has landed smack dab in the middle of a fully operational working ranch and she is one of the newest cowhands or is it cowgirl?
Echo Heaven Ranch, a self-supporting working ranch offers two week runs for groups of men or women to come and see and experience firsthand how a ranch runs. That means you ride a horse, you herd cattle, mend fences and that is just the clean stuff. You also have too muck stalls, mend fences and clean out pig pens. Oh my! Yhew!
Echo Heaven owned and run by Stace Levin, a hardworking, hands on owner of a little piece of heaven and with the help of paying guests that come to get the ultimate experience of first hand ranch life Stace has a nice little operation going. Then he meets a city gal lawyer named Lucy and his world gets turned upside down, but little does he know of the things to come with this fiery slip of a woman with a quirky sense of humor.
This book is the first I’ve read of Sandi Whipple. This author obviously is no novice at ranch life and has done her research well. The characters are very well rounded and likeable. You’ll laugh at times and then you’ll sympathize with the situation that the main femme character has found herself in. The story flows and moves at a good pace, the editing was very nicely done and best of all it was very cleanly written.
When I say cleanly written I mean there are some very passionate love scenes but the way the author takes you through these scenes you find yourself seeing the action in your mind feeling the tenderness and passion, but the raunchy explicit language is not there. I really enjoyed the characters and the way they find themselves in situations that aren’t the best that life would have to offer, after all ranch life is or can be backbreaking work. This author has got a winner on her hands with this one. Good story line, great characters and a top notch ending.
I highly recommend this book to adults as well as some of the younger set maybe 16 and up. If you like a country setting with down to earth good ole folk, you’ll enjoy reading this one.

4 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy JoAnne fromRomancing The Book~ January 25, 2016  This was a cute story by a new to me author and I will be looking for other books she’s written.  It was a quick paced lighthearted read and its premise was unexpected.  I was able to finish the book in less than a day since it kept my interest from the first page to the last. Lucy, Baumgardner, a high-powered Philadelphia lawyer, and Stace Levin, the owner of a working ranch and spa, should have nothing in common but there was chemistry and an attraction between them the moment they met even though a forced vacation, especially on a working ranch or dude ranch, wasn’t her thing.  The spa relates to hot springs and not a spa as Lucy was thinking – relaxing with massages, mani’s and pedi’s!  There were a lot of laughs throughout especially when Lucy realizes the type of vacation her father made her go on but also undercurrents of other stories in the background that became front and center soon enough with a mystery that needed solving.  Lucy was a good sport throughout no matter what ranch jobs were thrown her way. Even seeing her accommodations in a cabin, the family style meals with the other tourists, the early rising with a clanging of a bell, learning how to ride a horse and her poor clothing choices didn’t deter her from doing her best and making the best of the situation.  She would get down and dirty – often an understatement – and do what needed to be done without too much complaint.  Of course, her sarcasm and retorts and comments under her breath tended to get her in trouble when they were often times heard mainly by Stace.  She was a quick learner and always did her best or tried to no matter what assignment was thrown her and her team’s way and we were immediately immersed in a ranching life.  There were family, friends, airplanes, horses, cattle, pigs, cabins, the main house, good and hearty food, beautiful scenery in Arizona, heartache, anger, laughter, aches and pains, jealousy, doubts, fear, lawyering, lots of loving and ultimately love.  The loose ends were tied up nicely and there was closure and a happily ever after but an epilogue would have been nice.  Favorite Quote:  Laughing out loud, she name her pig Mr. Levin.

5 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy   Pat Henderson  January 3, 2016  It was amazing I read this book in one day, it pulls you in and I just couldn't put it down. I love it and can't wait to read the other books from this author. It was exciting, adventurous and romantic.

5 of 5 stars Dancing With A Cowboy    10/23/2015  Reviewed By Janelle Fila for Readers’ Favorite Dancing With A Cowboy by Sandi Whipple is a contemporary romance that puts an educated big time city girl into the backwoods of the country. Lucy Baumgardner is forced into a two-week hiatus on a working ranch in the middle of nowhere. That means no cell phone service and no WiFi. The ranch's owner, Stace Levin, finds his newest charge amusing and doesn't cut her any slack when it comes to the manual labor. Lucy wouldn't mind if she didn't keep messing up, which amuses the rough and country style Stace. His amusement at Lucy's situation leads to an understanding of how incredibly brave and stubborn she is as well. When Lucy decides to grin and bear her punishment for two weeks, she lets her guard down, and realizes that there's more to cowboy Stace than meets the eye. Not only is he hardworking and fiercely proud, but he has inviting arms and warm lips that threaten to be the undoing of Lucy's stubbornness to refuse to become a cowgirl. This is a sweet romance that gives readers two incredibly written characters. Readers will fall in love with both Lucy and Stace. Lucy is tough as nails in the business world, but scared to death of the real world. Stace is the exact opposite. He has a hardened exterior, but is afraid to let anyone get close to see how he is on the inside. Until they meet each other. These characters are both incredibly written and readers will just fall in love with this story.

5 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy ~ Amazon New Zealand October 14, 2015, Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase Loved this romance novel. What a fun read that I highly recommend to you.

5 of 5 Stars  Jeanie Lautenschlager 7:48am Feb 11, 2015  Danny read all three of your books. He loved them all.  Waiting for your next book.

4 of 5 Stars Dancing With A Cowboy   December 26, 2014 byDevi Nair When I took "Dancing with the cowboy", I had serious misgivings about it. But the moment I finished the first chapter, I knew I was hooked. Finished the 250 page book in 3 hours flat, that is how much I loved it. Right from the previous book, I loved her stories. This one is just another one to be adored and totally loved. The character building is really nice. The language, which put me off in the second book, has developed substantially in this one. The description and depiction is classy. The story is sweet, albeit a tad bit predictable. There is some suspense at the end but even that is nice. If you are looking for a light hearted fun loving romance, "Dancing with the cowboy" is definitely it. Sandi has grown a lot with her writing in her third book. After this, I cannot wait to get my hands on her next book.

3 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy   Dec 06, 2014 (;Lucy.Lala;) (;Book-A-Holic;)  This was a cute country romance :) It was predictable, fun, and cute :D More info later...

5 of 5 stars Dancing With A Cowboy Jeanne Brostrom Nov 27, 2014  It was amazing  Dancing with a Cowboy is a wonderful getaway into a world of romance, humor, and mystery. Lucy Baumgardner, with her strong work ethic and open mind, takes us on a journey from the city into the country where the secrets and the beauty of the country are presented for all to view - including the smell of the stalls, the determination involved in keeping a ranch fenced, and the strength, both physical and spiritual, that must be included if one is truly to love the country. Country living turns out to be just what this successful city lawyer was destined to embrace. Perhaps her dad who sent her on this trip knew more than what he let on when he arranged to send her into the unknown-clueless to the reality of the ranch experience. What makes Lucy so respectable is her ability to see the humor in her situation and her vibrant response to living. Lucy is a strong willed, independent woman. It would take a strong man to match her character, and Stace turns out to be just the man, possessing a sense of humor and the manliness to lead the dance. Lucy's ability to see the beauty of living wherever life takes her reminds us all that life is subjective, and what we see turns out to be a mirror looking back at us. Through Lucy's experience, this reader is able to enjoy a brief encounter with a time when she believed in romance and accepted that the hardships that come with the challenge - even if those hardships include the odor that can be found in a pig barn - are part of the secrets given to those who truly love the country. Dancing with a Cowboy reminds us that life is full of romance wherever one finds oneself: beauty is all around us. Like Lucy, we have to be open minded enough to see it. Good writing, Sandi Whipple. Not everyone can keep a story going, adding a sense of joy and amusement as the story progresses.

5 of 5 Stars Dancing With A Cowboy (Kindle Edition) (Posted Under Twisted Engagement) it's nice to get away to a world of romance November 26, 2014  By  Diana Brostrom  Sometimes, it's nice to get away - to a world of romance and strong characters who don't back down when life gets hard, who can still fall in love and find mutual delight in one another. The story of Lucy and Stace is an enchanting story of a girl who can find the best in both the city and the country. How rare is that? We live in a world of haters and liars, and yet there are still those around us who (like Lucy and Stace) remind us that gratitude is the best gift, and the world, no matter where the perspective comes from, is subjective. To see Lucy find love in the country when she has been a successful city lawyer is a delightful reminder that beauty and romance are all around us if we have the eyes to see. If not, we can keep on hating.

5 of 5 StarsDancing With A CowboyDavid Burnettfor the Kindle Book Review I received a copy of the book in exchange for a fair and unbiased review. November 7, 2014 Lucy is a partner in her father's Philadelphia law firm. A confirmed workaholic, she routinely puts in twelve hour days, six day weeks, and never takes a vacation. Worried about her health, her father orders her out of the office. He changes the lock on her door, distributes all of her cases to other attorneys, and books a two-week stay at an Arizona ranch. Lucy goes under protest.She arrives to find that, rather than being booked into what she had believed was a spa resort, her vacation is set at a dude ranch, an hour's flight from Phoenix in a small bush plane. It is a working ranch, and she faces two weeks of cleaning stables and pig pens, mending fences and herding cattle. There are twelve guests, and she is the only woman. When she demands to be returned to civilization, she is informed that the airplane will not return for two weeks, and that the ranch has no way to communicate with the outside world.Lucy attacks work at the ranch with the same drive and determination with which she practiced law. Wearing borrowed clothes−she had packed for a spa, after all− she jumps into all of the activities with the intent to show that she can master anything thrown her way. Stace is the owner of the ranch. Lucy initially believes him to be an arrogant jerk. After working with him, walking on the prairie with him, dancing with him to the sounds of night animals, and kissing him under the stars, though, she is in love. All is not right at the ranch however. Two of the other guests are acting strangely, wandering off alone, and there is a law suit over stolen property... This is the author's third novel and it is far and away the best of the three. The story is terrific and the writing is very good. I could feel Lucy's anger when she found herself stranded at the ranch for two weeks, and, had I been in her place, her father would have had an earful when I returned home. Lucy and Stace are both sympathetic characters and you quickly want them to fall in love, although it is difficult to see how that might happen or how they will be happy together if it does. The author's obvious knowledge of life on a working ranch added immeasurably to the realism of the story, and her knowledge of the law concerning land and mineral rights added additional authenticity. The book is an easy read, a perfect light romance with a touch of suspense thrown in just when you think you know where the plot is going.

Dancing With A Cowboy ~ Found on   QVC ~ PREVIEW  November 4, 2014  Dancing With A Cowboy  bigsister5763 Southern California I just finished a fun read and I recommend it. It is titled, Dancing With A Cowboy, by Sandi K. Whipple. This is her third book in the last year or two. She is in her 60s and recently started writing. She is a friend of a friend. The story has two main characters you will really like. Lucy is a dynamic lawyer in the big city and her father, the managing partner of the law office, insists she take some R and R. He signs her up for a two week stay at a working ranch. She thought she was going to a ranch/resort/spa. What takes place in those two weeks is delightful to read.

5 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy    November 3, 2014 By Amazon Customer (GARLAND, TX, US)  - (Kindle Edition)  Loved the book!  Loved the angles... the non-communicative nature.... and her name!  Quick, easy reading, and smiling, because I've almost been there...done that....

5 of 5 Stars  Dancing with a Cowboy Donna Gott review October 13, 2014   Lucy Baumgardner had worked very hard for her partnership in her father’s law firm. She felt that she had to prove that she was good enough so she worked many, many nights and most Saturdays. Her father Gerald appreciated his daughter but felt that she was missing out on a lot and in fact was working really hard to kill herself with work. On her current case her father gave her another ultimatum that she would indeed take 2 weeks off at the expense of the law firm if she won. Arriving back at the office after winning Lucy tried to enter her office to no avail. Fuming she confronted her father, he handed her an envelope with all the details of her forced hiatus, rather than vacation. Reaching into the envelope she pulled out the tickets and a brochure. On the top it read: Retreat. Get away from it all. She barely saw the rest, keeping the ticket and itinerary and dropped the rest on the floor. She was speechless, but she realized that he was going to force the issue. Looking up she said, “Well, I suppose I have no other choice. I will have to just force myself to deal with two weeks of being pampered.” Leaving the room she told her father that she would never forgive him. As she left, she heard him say, yes you will. Let’s just say that Lucy should have taken the time to read the rest of the paperwork as this would be a vacation of a life time. What did I like? Having a background in ranching, I’m very familiar with the life, the work that goes on without the luxury of holidays or weekends off. It’s hard but a very enriching life style for those who can stick it out. Loving the animals and even taking pride in the work accomplished. Knowing your roots go back for 100’s of years working the soil and animals. This book touches on those values that have been sorely missed in this day in time. The characters were so loveble with touches of vulnerability that make them real. I loved the dialog, especially the one about the orchestra and the one about "This must be where God sleeps". The story line is developed in so many ways that it touched my heart.What did I dislike? In the book nothing, but in real life the type of people that think that they can just use the system and get what they want without the value of hard work. It’s sad to think that these people cannot understand what it means to appreciate the beauty of the land and the offerings that it will give you if you just apply yourself to it. Of course, that not only applies to this type of living but all in general. What will you like? First and foremost a book that will capture your heart. A story line that has been thoroughly been researched down to the smallest details. The descriptions of the land and buildings will come alive in your mind along with the characters. A very real experience in living the life of a rancher and in the most vivid way, a very romantic love story that will remain in your mind for a very long time. And last but certainly not least another book that will be added to your “To Be Read” list, to be read over and over again. Our country was built on these values spoken of in this book and if you want to remind yourself what they were just pick up this book and read. It will jump out to you on every page. Happy reading, I know I did!

5 of 5 Stars  Dancing With A Cowboy  Ann-Maree Coyte  September 22, 2014 I was given a free pre-release copy of Dancing With A Cowboy in exchange for an honest review. I don’t care for westerns and wasn’t sure about this book. But I read the author’s other two and enjoyed them immensely. When I started reading this one and realized it wasn’t a western, I was surprised and happy that I was given a chance to read it. Lucy, a lawyer from Philadelphia, who works like a dog, gets locked out of her office and has to take a two week vacation. It was bought and paid for by her Dad, who’s also her boss. She’s expecting to go to a resort, but winds up at a kind of dude ranch. First, she’s riding in a small airplane and scared to death, but it’s the only way to get to the ranch. Her description of the plane nearly sent me over the edge in laughter. She thought her vacation had gone downhill when she arrived. But it gets worse for her. The ranch owner, whose name is Stace, though he’s attracted to Lucy, isn’t making things easy for her. She’s smart though, and figures out how to cope. She’s quick witted, and does and says some hilarious things. I laughed through the entire first half of the book. At times, I had tears from laughing so hard. Some of Lucy’s experiences while working on the ranch are creative, realistic and well written. I even pictured them happening to me. When all the people staying at the ranch go on a four day cattle drive, Stace really starts paying attention to Lucy. They take long walks in the evenings and do a lot of talking and start getting to know each other. When two men at the ranch start acting strange and a legal problem surfaces, Lucy, as an attorney, helps Stace . I will say, after Lucy managed to fix the problem for Stace, I was shocked when she went back to Pennsylvania. I even counted to see how many pages were left to read because I couldn’t believe it. But once she’s back home, she gets a package. I cried when she opened it! The ending is beautiful and heartwarming. I loved the characters and I loved the story. It’s beautiful and heartwarming. Months from now I’ll read this again. It was an excellent read. I’ll be watching for Sandi’s next book.


Most reviews have been copied from  Goodreads  & or  Amazon

    Lucy Baumgardner, working partner in a law firm in Philadelphia, works too hard. So says the senior partner, who just happens to be her father. When she's forced to take a two week hiatus, she assumes two weeks of pedicures, massages, and poolside relaxation with a glass of wine won't kill her.    

     To her horror, city girl Lucy ends up stuck on a working ranch with no phones, cell service, or Wifi. In her acute shock, she vows NOT to play cowgirl for two weeks. However, her days are filled with manual labor, and one mishap after another. Every day something happens to change her mind about the good looking ranch owner/cowboy, Stace. One day he's a pompous ass, and the next, well... Those inviting arms, and his generous warm lips and mouth can sure as hell change one’s mind about the guy.
 

Sandi K. Whipple © Copyright 2014-2017
Join  Goodreads to post a review of my books! Your opinion matters more than you know!